Safeguarding

 

We take the safeguarding and care of children and vulnerable adults very seriously at St Luke’s. If at any time, you see or hear anything that could suggest a safeguarding risk, please follow procedure below.  We follow Diocesan policies, procedures and guidelines which are detailed in the manual, "A Safe Church".

 

A copy of our Safeguarding Policy is available just inside the church.

Parish Safeguarding Officers:

Vanessa Dand        vanessadand@gmail.com  07736 033172  (0-18yrs)

Alice Coddington   alicecoddington@doctors.org.uk  (18+ and vulnerable adults)

Church Wardens:

Jayne Armstrong jaynewatts@hotmail.com

Irene Stephens dl.im.stephens@gmail.com

(Deputy) Frankie Pinner frankie.m.pinner@gmail.com

(Deputy) Paula Brackenridge paulambrackenridge@hotmail.com

Who will you talk to if you observe or are told about child or adult protection concerns?

Is the child or adult safe? If in immediate danger, take emergency steps e.g. ambulance, police or children’s or adult’s services.

Most situations are not emergencies – seek advice before action: contact the parish safeguarding officers who will contact the Diocesan safeguarding team.

 

Police Kew Safer Neighbourhood Team: 020 8247 8320

Emergency – always dial 999 (textphone 1800)

Non-emergency - dial 101 (textphone 18001 101)

Diocesan Safeguarding Team:
Diocesan Safeguarding Adviser

Kate Singleton kate.singleton@southwark.anglican.org 020 7939 9423 Mobile 07982 279713 (for urgent matters out of hours)

Assistant Diocesan Safeguarding Advisers

Marie Daly marie.daly@southwark.anglican.org 020 7939 9441 Mobile 07946 255295
Louise Vernon louise.vernon@southwark.anglican.org 020 7939 9462 Mobile 07946 255622

NSPCC www.nspcc.org.uk NSPCC Child Protection Helpline 0808 800 5000 (lines free and open 24 hours). Phone if you are worried about a child. 

Childline www.childline.org.uk 0800 1111 (lines free and open 24 hours). Phone if you are a child or young person and are worried about anything.

Action on Elder Abuse www.elderabuse.org.uk 0808 808 8141 (lines free and open Monday to Friday 9-5pm)

Age Concern www.ageconcern.org.uk Free phone information line 0800 00 99 66

National Domestic Violence Helpline www.nationaldomesticviolencehelpline.org.uk  0808 2000 247 (lines free and open 24 hours). Phone if you are experiencing domestic abuse.

Samaritans www.samaritans.org.uk 08457 90 90 90 (lines free and open 24 hours). Phone if you feel you are struggling to cope and need someone to talk to.